+Returning/ Catching Up

Howdy Y’all,

It’s been roughly seven months since I posted my last blog. So before I begin blogging again on a regular basis, I will quickly catch you up on my life.

Three months ago (Give or take a week) I moved to FLORIDA. As a girl who lived in GEORGIA for 12 years, I expected Florida to be similar to Georgia. Boy, was I mistaken! Southern Hospitality ENDS the moment you cross the Florida/Georgia line. Tim and I have met NO one outside of work. Which is crazy because Tim is one of the most outgoing people I know. I figured we’d have no problem meeting people. We live in a nice apartment complex but you would think we lived on a deserted island. No one goes outside unless it’s to hop in their vehicles to go somewhere or to take their dogs out. No one speaks to you, let alone make eye contact with you.

Where is the SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY down here? I’ve been asking this damn question since the first week we moved down here and have yet to find an answer.

Florida lacks the home welcoming/ family loving feeling you would find in Georgia. And the weather is just as unfulfilling.

 I can’t tell you how wishy washy the weather is down here. Yesterday was 70 something degrees out and today it was FREEZING! 45 degrees out! You never know if you should bundle up like you live in the north or if you should throw on your bathing suit and hit the pool.

I can’t stand this weather!

On another note, two months ago, Tim and I welcomed our second furchild into our home. Like I mentioned earlier, no one comes outside. Even those with dog’s refuse to go to the dog park. So for an entire month, Sadie Mae had no interactions with other dogs. It started to take a toll on her so after Tim gave me permission to welcome another furchild into our home, I jumped at the opportunity.

Everyone meet River Layne. She is absolutely precious! In a few words, she’s the sweetest, whiniest, needy puppy who is beyond obsessed with her older sister. It baffles Tim and I how much she loves Sadie Mae but it can be heartwarming!

Did I mention she’s Sadie Mae’s mini-me? You don’t understand how much I love that about her! They are so much alike, it’s scary! It drives Tim insane 85% of the time but I can’t help but adore the similarities, I’m obsessed with them!

And lastly, I just applied for Graduate School. I would like to pursue a career in Teaching and Learning-Administration. I’d like to eventually work in a public school as an administrator. So fingers crossed, I get accepted into Liberty University and can begin and complete my Master’s Degree.

So now that’s we’re caught up on my life, let’s begin with my regular blogs. My blogs may vary from opinions, stories, Dinner Recipes (I’ve started cooking since I moved to Florida and I hate to toot my own horn, but I’m quite the chef), and other odd and random posts.

Leave a comment