The Power of a Nap

I’ve been beating myself up the past few days because I’ve found myself making my way to my comfy bed and not leaving it for a few hours. It’s really hard for me not to take advantage of naptime when I have the opportunity. Thursday, Sunday and today I have curled up into bed and fallen asleep without any worries in the world.

As an individual who normally works 40 hours a week in a four day timeframe, I am constantly busy and exhausted. It’s very rare that I have time to sit down and eat or watch the latest episode of a show on Netflix before I’m crashing into bed for the evening after a long day at work. It’s been quite nice to be able to have some free time when I’m not busying myself every hour of every waking second.

Even if that time is spent catching up on my beauty sleep.

But even if I enjoy my midmorning, early afternoon naps, I still beat myself up over them. I think about that long list of things that I should have been getting done while I was sleeping away the hours in the day.

But I’ve decided to stop beating myself up.

Naps are a very powerful thing!

Today I took a three hour nap. Even though I wasn’t too thrilled about getting up, I did find the motivation that I hadn’t had before my nap.

After my early afternoon nap, I accomplished doing several things such as:

-Cleaning the bathroom

-Cleaning my room from top to bottom

-Cleaning Loftie the Rabbit’s cage

-Did a couple loads of laundry

-Started the dishwasher and sweep the kitchen floor

-Vacuumed the living room

&

-Vacuumed and cleaned the inside of my car

I would say all in all, I accomplished everything I wanted to get done today.

Lesson Learned?

It’s okay for adult’s to take naps throughout the day. I wouldn’t necessarily make it a daily habit as there are things in life that must be done and can’t be put off for the next day. Example: Work

But naps are a great way to replenish your fading energy and to help you find the motivation you’re lacking.

I can promise you, if I hadn’t taken my nap, half those things that I did accomplish today would not have gotten accomplished until this coming up weekend.

So don’t be ashamed and enjoy those rare and fabulous times when you can settle down and just snooze away. Sometimes I truly believe naptime is a thousand times better than happy hour!

Leave a comment