Positive & Uplifting With A Twist of Old

When I wrote my blog “Representing Our Past, Present and Future” I added a new radio station to my iTunes. I was looking for a certain rendition of a song and came across several bands that I had almost completely forgotten about.

Jump 5

God Bless the USA has been sung by various artists over the years and although I’ve found most renditions have been up to par, Jump 5’s rendition is my absolute favorite.

As a popular pop band in the early 2000’s, Jump 5 was given the opportunity to perform this song live for President Bush and his family at the White House in 2002.

They had other hits like Spinnin’ Around and Welcome.

Unfortunately, the members of this band spilt up in December 2007 after deciding they wanted to find new challenges for their lives. After being in a band for eight years, one of the members being nine years old when the band came together, you can understand the wanting to go out into the world and do something new and exciting.

But they weren’t the only band that was a huge hit during the 2000s and then fell off the face of the earth.

Plus One

My lord, when Plus One was the heart throbbing band that they once were, I was a huge fan.

But like most pop bands from the 2000s, this band didn’t last long enough to make a lasting name for themselves.

With that being said, their music is worth listening to. It’s worth giving it a couple minutes of your time. It’s most definitely not everyone’s cup of tea but it is for others.

The two videos I have posted are two of my favorite.

The nice thing about Plus One and Jump 5 is that they were Christian bands with clean music. You wouldn’t hear an explicit word in any of their songs and you could rest assured that each song would have a healthy and encouraging message.

Another bonus is that most of their songs are upbeat and catchy. Like Jump 5’s Spinnin’ Around, you would/will find yourself dancing along with the music from start to finish.

I can’t think of anything better than catchy, clean music to fill your days with.

In today’s society, we constantly have negative noise going in one ear and out the other. Sometimes that negative noise sticks.

Lets try listening to uplifting music. It doesn’t have to be Plus One of Jump 5, but when we surround ourselves with positive and uplifting messages, we live a happier life.

I’m posting this video only because this song came on as I was wrapping this blog up and I’m obsessed with it!

Enjoy and fill your lives with positive messages!

Leave a comment